Prop Research. 

For my short film I want to make a couple of fake bricks as they are an important part of the narrative. My female character (the victim) will use these bricks at the end of the film to injure someone as the result of a flashback to her life with her abuser. 

I started by looking online at how to create a fake brick and found a website called Wonder How To – Props and SFX[1]. The website took me to a page about making fake bricks and included the materials I would need and a YouTube tutorial[2]. 



The video tutorial is somewhat childish as it seems to have been done by a pre teen or teenage boy (Parker) however it was helpful as it listed the materials I would need to make the fake bricks and went through the process step – by – step with visual guides. 

The materials I will need are:

  • A hot glue gun 
  • Styrofoam 
  • Exacto knife 
  • Red paint
  • Brown paint 
  • Black paint
  • White paint
  • Sandpaper
  • Flour / Chalk / Plaster of paris 

The first step is to cut out three equal rectangles from a sheet of styrofoam measuring about 2 and a half inches x 6 inches. The tutorial recommends using a stencil to make sure the rectangles are equal. 


The next step is to use the hot glue gun to stick the three rectangles together – on top of each other to thicken the styrofoam. Then I will use sandpaper to smoothen the sides and edges of the styrofoam. 


The next step is to paint the ‘brick’ using one coat of white paint. Once it is dry I will paint over the white with a few coats of red/brown paint, giving it an authentic brick colour. The brick will then be dusted with either flour, chalk or plaster of Paris to give it a dirty appearance. 


The process is then complete. I will have to repeat this process as I want to make 2-4 bricks to use in my short film as one may look out of place or unnatural in my location. I will either use materials provided by my college or buy them from a local craft store, the cost of which will be included in my budget. 

Leave a Reply

