Post Production – Editing (pt 1.) 

To edit my short film and production vlogs I will be using PremierPro.

I began my editing process by editing the vlog I recorded at the end of my first filming day, Saturday 15th April. In the vlog I talked about how filming went, what issues I faced and how I did or will resolve them and what I had to film next. As this was a short clip I imported it into PremierPro and cut the beginning, where I am reaching to turn on the camera, a part in the middle where I repeated a sentence after stopping and starting and then the ending before I reached to turn off the camera. I then uploaded this video to YouTube[1] as part of my production diaries.

Screen Shot 2017-04-24 at 09.51.33

I then began to edit the footage from the first day of filming, which is the flashback scenes in my film. I started by imported and renaming the shots.

Screen Shot 2017-04-24 at 14.43.28

I chose to start with the second flashback scene, at it would be the most complicated to edit because I want to include text messages on screen. Originally I was going to use a close up shot of the messages, however when I reviewed my footage the next day I found that I hadn’t focused the camera and the messages appeared blurry, which I am now glad about as I like the idea of the text bubbles appearing as the messages are recieved, on screen next to the mirror instead. To find a solution I did some secondary research online and found a video on YouTube[2] which explained the different ways text messages have appeared on screen in soap operas, TV shows and film. It also showed the different styles I could use, however I will be using the IPhone grey bubbles. Unfortunately the video did not give an explanation on how I could do this in the editing procces.

The video first explained that the most common way of showing text messages on screen is the shot reverse shot, where we see the character, then the phone displaying the message and then back to the character.

 

It then went on to show the various styles that filmmakers can use to show text messages on screen, including bubbles, free floating text or text bubbles that appear to be attached to the device / person and move with them. The person who created the tutorial seems to prefer BBC Sherlock’s method of free standing text without a bubble because of its simplicity, however I would prefer to include text bubbles.

The Fault In Our Stars (2014)

Screen Shot 2017-04-24 at 14.58.26

House of Cards (2013-)

Screen Shot 2017-04-24 at 14.58.54

Sherlock (2010 – 2017)

Screen Shot 2017-04-24 at 15.01.11

As this video didn’t explain how I could create this effect in my own video I looked online for a tutorial and found an article[3] which included the video I have already looked at by Every Frame A Painting. It also included an AfterEffects template for text messages, which I tried to download, however I was unable to as I would have had to install new software onto the computer which students are not allowed to do.

I then found another video on YouTube[4] which was a step – by – step tutorial on how to use Photoshop to create a text bubble and layer it over my video using AfterEffects.





 

I followed the steps in the video, which started with editing an image of a text bubble in PhotoShop to remove the background of the image. I did this and then saved the image as a document, which I then imported into PremierPro and layered over the clip I wanted it to appear in. I found that once I made the image transparent the edges of the bubble looked messy and the background was visible. I tried to edit the image again to give the bubble a smoother outline however the edges still looked messy. 

I decided to use a different method, as creating a text bubble in Photoshop was difficult for me to do. I decided to use a recording of a girls voice reading the messages as it could represent the character reading the messages in her head. I decided to repeat the last part – ‘it’s your fault’ to show that the character believes that the abuse is her fault, this also shows that the abuser has used emotional abuse to manipulate her into believing him and that it has effected her mental state. I used Louise Howarth’s, another media student, voice as she has a similar accent to my actress, Niamh. I decided to use a sound bridge and overlap the repeated sentence with the scene where the character stops running to show the audience that the flashback has ended. I chose to stop editing at this point and will continue next week.

Leave a Reply

