Filming (Day 2.)

My second day of filming was on Thursday 27th April, originally I was going to film on Sunday 16th April, however I had to change the date to Tuesday 18th due to bad weather. On the 18th I had to change the date again, to Thursday 27th, as my actress had injured her arm that day. 

My original location for filming was Kings Road in Mill Hill, Blackburn however I had to change locations on the day of filming because my actress couldn’t travel to Mill Hill. Instead I used an alleyway behind Knowles Street in Rishton. This location was similar to my original location, included bricks which I needed for the end scene and was cleaner than the other location. 

Originally I was supposed to use the GoPro Hero 4 and Karma Grip tripod to film the main narrative, however due to a booking error I used the Canon XA10 and FigRig instead. For my first shot I stood in the middle of the alley, I told Niamh to wait five seconds after I shouted action and then start running. I used a tracking shot to follow Niamh running through the alley and then cut when she got to area where the bricks were. I did four takes of this shot to make sure I had enough footage. I decided to do an alternate tracking shot, where I ran behind Niamh and used the FigRig to hold and steady the camera. I watched the scene back on the camera and saw that it was too shaky and blurry so I did two more takes to see if the outcome would be different. Unfortunately the footage was still too shaky and although I like the idea of the shot, I may have to use the original tracking shot instead. 







Leave a Reply

