Post Production – Editing (pt 2.)

Originally I had used additive dissolves to convey that the flashback scenes were flashbacks, however when Brian and Graham looked at the parts I had edited they decided it would look better if I made the flashback scenes black and white, as the audience would know it was a flashback because it is a common technique. I also used the dip to white affect to transition from the main narrative to a flashback scene and back. I included dip to white transitions in the middle of the longer flashback scenes to break the scene up and make it seem shorter. 
Screen Shot 2017-05-08 at 10.30.41

The second flashback, which is the bathroom scene is my favourite of the flashbacks because it is well framed and it gives the audience a better idea of the abuse the character is suffering as her face is bruised and they see / hear an example of emotional abuse. 

The shot was originally a wide shot, however I decided to scale it in to be a mid shot as it would look better with the next shot which is a close up. 

Screen Shot 2017-05-08 at 11.06.33Screen Shot 2017-05-08 at 11.06.43Screen Shot 2017-05-08 at 11.06.57Screen Shot 2017-05-08 at 11.07.12

Another of my favourite shots is the end shot, where the character realises she has hit the stranger and comes out of her flashback. Although the lighting is off I think it is well framed, well shot and that characters conflicting emotions are obvious to the audience. 
Screen Shot 2017-05-08 at 14.53.01Screen Shot 2017-05-08 at 14.52.43Screen Shot 2017-05-08 at 14.52.52

I have added credits at the end of my film using a rolling title. 

Screen Shot 2017-05-08 at 14.52.14Screen Shot 2017-05-08 at 14.52.24

I have finally finished the rough edit of my film, which I will show to Graham on my pathway day. I will need to fix the lighting for my outdoor scenes as it is underexposed in some parts, fix the sound levels and add sound effects at the end. 

Screen Shot 2017-05-08 at 14.51.54

After showing Graham my rough edit, he had some feedback for me and said that I should add a sound effect of a man groaning after the brick hits him and then a sound effect of a man falling during the end shot as it was unclear what had happened to him. He also suggested I change the third flashback, the kitchen scene, from a mid shot to a wide shot and then cut to a scaled – in close up. 

I changed the scale of the kitchen scene and added the sound effect of a man falling during the end scene. I decided to leave out the sound effect of a man groaning as the royalty free ones I found sounded too over dramatic. I then asked Brian to help me fix the lighting on the outdoor scenes as some of it appeared dark and looked yellow. To fix this he applied the brightness and contrast effect to each scene and adjusted them so that the scenes were brighter and matched the others. 

I then exported my final edit and uploaded it to YouTube so that I could share it with actress and peers for feedback. After I receive feedback I will privatise the video until it has been marked.  

Screen Shot 2017-05-09 at 15.22.53

 

Leave a Reply

